skip to log on skip to main content
VoiceOver users please use the tab key when navigating expanded menus

Your client list comprises of the debtors you have saved to your ANZ Internet Banking in order to receive direct debits from them. When creating direct debits you can select previously saved clients from your list and avoid filling in their details each time.

If you no longer need to receive direct debits from a client you can easily delete them from your client list. Once you've deleted their details you won't be able to retrieve them.

How do I delete a direct debit client?

ANZ Internet Banking for Business customers can easily delete client details from their direct debit client list, if necessary.

  • Go to the "Payments" menu.
  • Select "Set up business Direct debit".
  • Select the "Manage client list" link and follow the steps below.

Step 1 - Select the client/debtor and click "Immediately delete client"

  • Select the person from your client/debtor list using the radio button under the "Select" column.
  • Select the "Immediately delete client" link.
  • The client/debtor details will be deleted and the client/debtor will be removed from your list.
  • You can re-add the client at any time.

Why can't I delete my client/debtor?

You cannot delete a client/debtor if there is a future or recurring payment scheduled from that person.

If you wish to delete a future dated or recurring payment, the request must be lodged with ANZ Internet Banking prior to 11.59pm Melbourne time on the day prior to the payment date.

  • You must first cancel the pending future or recurring payments

Delete a future payment

Need more help?

Choose another topic from the table of contents

Send us a SecureMail

For further assistance please call the ANZ Internet Banking team on 13 33 50 (International callers: +61 3 9683 8833 24 hours a day, seven days a week.

Frequently asked questions

Use our frequently asked questions to find out more about deleting a direct debit client.

You need the following information to save the details in the client list:

  • Client name: enter the client name, using a maximum of 20 characters.
    • The name can contain letters, numbers, hyphens, spaces and single quotes and is case sensitive.
    • It cannot include any other special characters (e.g.@#$ %^*).
    • It will help you identify the client for future direct debits so make sure it is clear.
  • BSB number: this will be a 6 digit number. Do not include any spaces or dashes.
  • Account number: will be a maximum of 9 digits.
  • Account name: this may be used by some financial institution to correctly identify the account when making payments.

If the client's bank details change in future, you can always go to the "Manage client list" link under the "Set up business Direct debit" page to edit their details.

  • You can update the client name, BSB number (Financial Institution Number), account number and account name for the client.
  • Once you edit the details it will be updated immediately within the same ANZ Internet Banking session.

Yes. You can delete any client from the client list any time via the "Manage client list" section under the "Set up business Direct debit" menu.

  • Select the relevant client, using the radio buttons under the "Select" column.
  • Select the "Immediately delete client" link to delete the client detail immediately.
  • Once deleted the client details cannot be retrieved again.

No. Your client does not need to have an ANZ account.

  • The direct debit function within ANZ Internet Banking will allow you to debit funds from your client's account.
  • All you need is the correct BSB number, account number and account name for your client.

You cannot edit/delete a client detail if there is a future payment scheduled from that person.

  • You must first cancel any pending future payments.

If you wish to delete a future dated payment, the request must be lodged with ANZ Internet Banking prior to 11.59pm Melbourne time on the day prior to the payment date.

Find out more about deleting future payments/transfers

No. Once you select the "Immediately delete client" link the client details will be deleted immediately and the client will be removed from your list.

  • The client details cannot be retrieved once deleted.
  • they need to be re-entered and re-saved by you.